DepEd adds 7 more languages in mother tongue-based education

LuistroFrom the Department of Education
Published: July 12, 2013

The Department of Education (DepEd) has added seven more languages from the current 12 major local languages as medium of instruction from Kinder up to Grade 3 under the Mother-Tongue-Based Multi-Lingual Education (MTB-MLE).

The additional languages are Ybanag for pupils in Tuguegarao City, Cagayan, and Isabela; Ivatan for the Batanes Group; Sambal in Zambales; Akeanon in Aklan; Kinaray-a in Antique; Yakan in Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao and Surigaonon covering Surigao City and provinces.

According to Secretary of Education Armin Luistro, “The use of the same language spoken at home, in the early grades, helps improve the pupils’ language and cognitive development in addition to strengthening their socio-cultural awareness.”

Local and internationals studies have shown that using the mother tongue inside the classroom during the learners’ early years of schooling produce better and faster learners who can easily adapt to learn a second (Filipino) and third language (English).

The other 12 local languages used in MTB-MLE are Tagalog, Kapampangan, Pangasinense, Iloko, Bikol, Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Waray, Tausug, Maguindanaoan, Maranao and Chabacano. The MTB-MLE is implemented in two modules: 1) as a learning/subject area and 2) as medium of instruction.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s